IndieAuth and Webmentions on Neocities

10/19/19

Categories: Development Tags: Web Development

~/contents

IndieAuth

I’ve been meaning to look into webmentions for a while now. I set up a protonmail account and linked it to the site so I could use IndieLogin. I included a hidden link to the email on my homepage.

<link href="mailto:me@example.com" rel="me">

Receiving webmentions

From there, I can now use my site to sign in at webmention.io. I add the following link references to pages that I want to accept webmentions for:

<link rel="webmention" href="https://webmention.io/username/webmention" />
<link rel="pingback" href="https://webmention.io/username/xmlrpc" />

I haven’t decided how to handle webmentions yet. For a static site, you can use Javascript to dynamically list the mentions. Otherwise you can build the information into the generator and generate new pages. I anticipate a very low volume of webmentions, if any, so I’ll probably just address those on a case-by-case basis.

Sending webmentions

Max Böck has a helpful article on webmention implemenation for static sites and he suggests using webmention.app to send them.