Online Legacy

09/24/16

I have a long and sordid history of blogs and rag-tag websites stretching back to 1995. My first site was a vanity site on Prodigy Classic. I recall excessive use of magenta. There were sundry sites on AOL, Geocities, Blogger, LiveJournal, MySpace, and Tumblr, culminating in this GitHub Page. I have travelled the road from hand-coding to Kitchen-Sink CMS Hell to static pages.

I went through a number of pseudonyms during those years. I compartmentalized most of them and deleted the associated content when I retired the pen name. With the odd exception (one of my old blogspots stubbornly evades death to this day) I have sloughed each pseud and left little behind. So while I’ve devoted a significant portion of my life to writing and arranging pixels online, I have almost nothing to show for it. My friends and relatives haven’t seen a fraction of my writing, and people who befriended me online have only seen isolated sections.

At some point, one starts to think about what one will leave behind.