Project Graveyards

11/21/19

Tags Python

Something I have long struggled with, as a creative, is abandoned projects. They hover over my shoulder, haunting me, and sometimes the weight of those projects weighs on me. Occasionally I will have a Mood and go dig into those old projects. Sometimes I will even reboot one of them. But eventually, I remember why the project was abandoned in the first place, and the reboot is also abandoned.

I’m not sure why I have this feeling projects must be finished, since it’s simply not true and it’s nowhere near true in my case. I’ve toyed with the idea of a project graveyard for a while. I place where I can formally lay projects to rest in a visual way, and a place where I can document my progress and why I abandoned it. So, here it is, in all it’s retro NES glory.

This dovetails with another issue I have where I feel like I never accomplish anything creatively. I would like to do a better job of documenting my projects and the things I’ve made so when I feel down, like I never do anything, I can visit that list and say, look. I do make things I’m proud of. I got a lot done last week. And so on. The baked-in solution is to use the Project tag.

Aside, I wanted to scrape some kaoani and ImageScraper proved to be just the Python module I needed.