le gamez with a sprinkle of tumblr hate

02/04/20

I’ve begun working on my epic freeware game list and was mildly disturbed to find some link rot. Not a lot yet, but enough that I felt the need to start a mirror for some of the most specialest fatabulous games I was afraid might be lost to the ages. Might as well put that 50GB of NeoCities supporter space to use.

Link rot always seems worst on tumblr. I kind of hate it when developers host their games as dropbox or mega links on a site like tumblr. itch.io and gamejolt, and a host of other indie game platform sites, do a wonderful job of preserving these games when the creator blog is inevitably restructured or deleted. Anytime a developer’s main site is tumblr the odds of me having to claw my way through a rabbit hole of pages rises significantly. And when it comes to confusing Byzantine link trails from tumblr to wix to twitter to god knows what else… RPG Maker community, I’m looking at you. You’re beautiful, and I love you, but you are one hot mess.

Anyway, this isn’t a tungle hate post, though I do think tumblr is a terrible platform for anything but fast-web image sharing. Of course, fast-web image sharing is one of the most banal uses of our glorious internet so… disregard that, this is absolutely a tungle hate post. d̷҉҉̱̯͍̼͚͘ͅe̸̡̨͍̙̳̺̩̼̦͟͡a̶̧͈͚͍̩̠̝͙̠͉̻̖̖̪͙͉͕͡t̸̡̛͙̬̮͕̤̟̜̖̺̗̣͚̟͕͉h̻͕̣̪̙͇͚̗̤̰̮̼̦́͞ͅ ̢̡̡͈̬̲͇͍͡͝ͅţ͇̯̞̟̟͖͚̘̟͓̠͇̞͖͙̻͠ͅo̵͢͏̟͕͖̠͍͉ ̯͓͔͙̣͔̙͎̞͔̞͍̺̰͡ṱ̶̨̢̪̲͔̬͕̣͈̼͖̺͔͇͔̜̙̼ư̵̧͖͕̥͇̥͔̙̤ͅͅn͏̵̀҉͖̭͖̥͚̟͔͈̗͓͈̥͓̙̝͝g̶̛̘͙͚̱̺̯͖͍̫̣̫̺͇ļ͚̼̝̖̯͖̟̀è̸̷̢̼̪̣̞̟͖͔͇̞̫̗̘͘