PNP Build: Blankout "Worms" Retheme

05/23/20

Mood 🎨Arty
Tags Tabletop Games

I decided I wanted to find some roll ’n writes suitable for a five-year-old, preferably one that used dice summation. I didn’t find quite what I was looking for, so I started looking into games I might be able to retheme and remembered Alexander Shen’s Blankout, a tetromino R&R. I ended up doing a worm based retheme where you must roll to determine the worm shape and can only draw them touching either the compost or each other.

worms prototype

I made a prototype to play with Minnow yesterday and they liked it! They have decided they don’t like coloring worksheets, so I have been looking for a fun activity that will exercise hand-eye coordination the same way and games like this may be a possibility. They asked for a second game, which I took as a good sign, so I went ahead and designed a series of boards. These are still kind of rough, but if we continue to play I’ll develop something a little more polished.