Fountain Pens, Inks, and Journaling

For Christmas 2020 I was gifted a TWISBI 580ALR and Diamine inks. I really took to fountain pens and have been (more or less) maintaining a journal since then. Things I have learned about myself:

  1. I am absolutely a cheap pen guy, but I'd like to start branching out into slightly less cheap pens
  2. I like medium-ish nibs so I can see ink effects (shading)
  3. Shading is my favorite ink effect (SHADING)
  4. I like rotating between a handful of favorite colors, and color coding is an easy way to separate entries
  5. If a pen isn't a demonstrator and its color doesn't roughly match the ink color I will constantly pick up the wrong pen. I put Diamine Amber in a spare green Jinhao for a while. It was hell, I tell you.
  6. Sometimes you just need the right pen for an ink. I hated Diamine Amber in a EF Wing Sung, but when I put that ink in a modified M Jinhao I loved it.

Usage/Organization

I have long given up on the bullet journal method (see ex1, ex2). The Bujo Index is a great idea, but I don't use my journal for reference so chronological dating is usually enough.

Currently the journal is most useful for brainstorming and basic records of events. I do go through phases where I add lots of decorative doodles and sketches, but sometimes I do a 180 and have nothing but date and a brief project note.

I would like to return to journaling daily, so with the Leuchtturm I'm trying to get back to it. My goal is to record the day's notable events at a minimum, but ideally I'm also using the journal for story brainstorming and other creative tasks.

Notebooks

I currently prefer softcover dot journals with 2 bookmarks and an elastic strap. After thinking people freaking out about paper on r/fountainpens were being silly, I am forced to admit the quality of the paper/notebook definitely matters if you care about ink effects and ink can look radically different on various papers. I currently like white dot paper that doesn't ghost, and I've found I prefer less pages because by the time I get X pages in the thing is beaten to hell and I'm ready for a fresh book. I'm 2/3 through the P&G and it's starting to look janky and soiled (150 pgs, so 50 to go!).

Pens

Documenting the great pen journey. Marlin ordered a bunch of cheap pens, half of which I haven't even tried. I tried and failed to get a glass dip pen a while ago for swatches (ordered, but order cancelled). I could remove the feed from one of my other pens in the meantime. I had my eye on a Majohn/Moonman N6 or N10 because it has a glass converter and can be capped.

Inks

The inks are what I love. This is the part that brings me joy. Dayspring Pens has a great primer on ink types. We binged on Diamine inks to start, as you can see.

All notes subject to change given experimentation.

smile_heartsFAVES

All in modified EF nibs (probably "mediums"). My favorites ended up being colors I never would have guessed.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
MAYBE SOMETIMES MOOD

These are fine inks, but I'm not always in the mood for them for whatever reason. Some I wrote with a while simply wanted to switch to something different.

broken_heartFAIL

Some inks fell flat for me, though.

Shopping Notes

TaoBao for Moonman

Cult Pens is in the UK, but you can get Diamine bottles for less than a sample in the US.