Tilesets

01/10/17

Tags Neocities

surt has released nice public domain tilesets on opengameart. I wanted to see how far I could get with this one, which seemed well-designed. Pretty far, it turns out! That’s what you can do without editing the tileset. It’s versatile, and showed me a few things about good tile design, like how to add variation to large ‘painted’ areas like forests or mountains.

I am still interested in integrating Phaser with the site, but my head is out of the developer headspace right now (and needs to stay out of there, at least for a while) and I want the bulk of the site to be HTML/CSS only. I’ve been wanting to make a NeoCities navigation map for a while, but I haven’t found a tileset that’s a good fit or starting point and I sure as hell don’t want to make one from scratch. The NeoCities map will just need to percolate for a while.